February 28, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Colombia will play at a high level for women starting Friday

Colombia will play at a high level for women starting Friday

The Tucanes are in Dubai where they will play in the WXV, World Rugby’s new international women’s competition.

The Colombian national team has earned the right to participate in this new competition designed by World Rugby to raise the level of women’s international rugby and which is divided into three levels. The WXV 1 tournament will be held in New Zealand with the best teams in the world, the WXV 2 tournament will be held starting Friday in the Cape Province of South Africa, while the Colombians form the WXV 3 tournament to be played at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai in the United States. Arab Emirates .

Other world champions New Zealand and England, RWC 2022 finalists, Australia, Wales, Canada and France participate in WXV 1.

In the second level, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa, the United States and Samoa will play, while in WXV 3 they will play alongside Las Tucanes, Fiji, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Spain and Kenya.

Las Tucanes earned the right to participate in this competition by defeating Brazil this year.

In Dubai, they will face Fiji (October 13, 8am Colombia), Ireland (October 21, same time) and Kenya, whom they defeated in 2021, on October 27 at 10:30 Colombia.

The region champions in WXV 2 and 3 will be promoted while the last champions of WXV 1 and WX 2 will be relegated – again, it will be the region that loses the place.

Annually, each region will compete for places in the championships.

Matches of all three tournaments can be watched live on the RugbyPass.TV platform

See also  Ibai introduces new KOI team to LoL: Arvindir, WhiteKnight and Xico are the picks

These tournaments, set up by FIFA, aim to increase competitiveness ahead of the 2025 Rugby World Cup in England where 16 teams will play and for the first time there will be a team from our region.