July 1, 2022

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Costa Rica vs New Zealand: Why is the playoffs for the 2022 World Cup being played in Qatar and only one match?

Costa Rica vs New Zealand: Why is the playoffs for the 2022 World Cup being played in Qatar and only one match?

Costa Rica It takes 48 hours to play one of the most important games in its history. They face New Zealand in search of tickets for the Qatar World Cup 2022It will start until November.

However, one of the innovations compared to other World Cup versions Playoff It will be played in a single match at a neutral ground. Why will Costa Rica play against Oceania at the World Cup?

“Initially, the qualifying rounds were scheduled for March 2022, but they were postponed to June. Infectious changes and disruptions caused by the epidemic in the early stages of the World Cup around the world, ”says a FIFA report.

Despite the extreme weather conditions prevailing in the Asian country, Al Ryan Stadium will be the place to look for Costa Ricans and New Zealanders. Join Group E Along with Spain, Germany and Japan, this is due to the air conditioning system.

You may also like: Report: Benfica is interested in Keylor next season

Familiar ground

This is not the first time players led by Luis Fernando Suarez have had to go round the continent to find a ticket to the World Cup. It was the land they knew 12 years ago.

South Africa In 2010, Central Americans finished fourth in the Concacaf qualifying round. So, they had to face Uruguay to find a ticket to the World Cup. They lost 0-1 in the first leg and drew 1-1 in the second leg.

The fight between Costa Rica and New Zealand will take place next Tuesday, June 14th 2:00 pm ET (1:00 pm CT and 11:00 am PT) from Qatar.

See also  SEAT Martorell sends first Arona 2022 to New Zealand