July 14, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

The Complete Guide to the Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand: Team Records, Argentina Matches, TV and Everything You Need to Know

The Complete Guide to the Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand: Team Records, Argentina Matches, TV and Everything You Need to Know

The Women’s World Cup will be played from July 20 to August 20 (REUTERS/Jean Bizimana)

This July 20, ninth edition Women’s Soccer World Cup. For the first time in history, New Zealand and Australia are hosting the highest national team competition They will host the World Cup in Oceania, another unprecedented milestone for such tournaments.

In that framework, 32 selected countries of the Maritime Continent will be hosted, eight more than the 24 who competed at France 2019 four years ago. The Premier will be tasked with a tough task for the Kiwis in their opener against Norway at Eden Park. In Auckland, the opening ceremony will take place before the meeting between the locals and the Nordics.

The first day’s action will also see the other home team, Australia, take on Ireland, and Nigeria-Canada round off the opening day. All 64 World Cup matches can be followed on the channel DSportsWhen Argentina duels are broadcast Public TV.

Beyond the game, One of the topics to highlight is the economic advantage that football players have. A minimum of 736 players will participate in the 2023 World Cup 30 thousand US dollars Each was accepted to compete in the group stage, with an unprecedented guarantee and approval from the FIFPro Professional Footballers’ Association.

In addition to this guaranteed income, the amount increases as the tournament progresses: $60,000 for the Round of 16, $90,000 for the quarterfinals, $165,000 for third place losers, $180,000 for third, $195,000 for finalists, and $270,000 for champions.

Groups and format of the World Cup

See also  Facts and curiosities about Australia and New Zealand World Cup - D10

The 32 teams will be divided into eight zones of four teams each. It should be remembered that after the first edition of the tournament held in China in 1991, 12 players played in the tournament, now the number of participants has expanded. Eight teams will have their first World Cup experience: Haiti, Republic of Ireland, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Vietnam and Zambia.

The composition of the groups will be as follows: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines and Switzerland (Group A); Australia, Ireland, Nigeria and Canada (Group B); Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia and Japan (Group C); England, Haiti, Denmark and the People’s Republic of China (Group D); USA, Vietnam, Netherlands and Portugal (Group E); France, Jamaica, Brazil and Panama (Group F); Sweden, South Africa, Italy and Argentina (Group G) and Germany, Morocco, Colombia and Korea Republic (Group H).

Regarding the format, The top two teams from each zone advance to the round of 16. The winners will then advance to the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final, which will take place on August 20 at Accord Stadium, the championship’s largest stadium with a capacity of over 80,000, located in Sydney.

Other Australian venues are Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne and Perth, while the remaining World Cup matches will be held in Auckland, Dunedin, Hamilton and Wellington in New Zealand.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Groups

Argentina’s competition

German Portanova’s national team is looking to win its first tournament in Women’s World Cup history. His debut Monday, July 24 at 6:00 PM (local time) and 3:00 AM in Argentina Against Italy at Eden Park, Auckland. He will then head south to Dunedin South Africa on Thursday 27th July at 9pm (Argentina time) and on 28th July at 12pm At the World Cup headquarters. The group closes against the Albiceleste Sweden, one of the powers of the discipline, on Wednesday August 2 at 4:00 am (Argentine time) and 7:00 pm (local). At Hamilton’s Waikato Stadium.

See also  A Guide to Swiftly Restoring Your Appliance's Performance

If the Blue and Whites reach the milestone, they could face the second-placed team in Division E in Melbourne (Wednesday, August 6) in round 16, or face the E winner in Sydney. , the same day.

Candidates for title and figures

AmericaThe reigning champion with four trophies, including the World Cup in France last four years, will enjoy a special tournament as it will be his farewell. Megan RapinoeStar of Team USA that won the championship twice in 2015 and 2019. Something similar happens Marta Vieira da Silva: Star BrazilThe top scorer in 17 World Cups will be playing in his sixth and final World Cup in which he dreams of winning the championship for the first time.

In addition, two European teams promise to battle it out in the fight to win the ninth World Championship in women’s football history. Spainhand in hand Alexia ButellasA two-time awardee The best As the best player in the world, she wants the title. It remains to be seen how the midfielder fares after a long layoff with a torn ligament.

Other combinations England. He is a defender for Los Leones who won the Euro Cup on home soil Lucy Bronze as one of its symbols. After finishing in the top four in Canada eight years ago (3rd place) and the last edition in France (4th place), the Brits are looking to reach the final in Sydney.

Megan Rapinoe, USA’s player of the past two World Cups, will make her World Cup farewell (REUTERS/Benoit Tessier/File Photo)

Continue reading:

Hand in hand with German Portanova: From masterminding Argentina’s Women’s World Cup to shoemaking
Aldana Cometti, alone with Infobae before the World Cup: “Our target is eight or ten-year-old girls who want to play football”