April 13, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Women's World Cup semi-finals are ready

Women's World Cup semi-finals are ready

AndIn the blink of an eye, 60 of the 64 games were already out. FIFA Women's World Cup Australia-New Zealand 2023Three European powers and one of the host countries of the championship for the semi-finals.

Spain, Sweden, England And Australia On Sunday, August 20, the best-of-four will go down in search of the long-awaited ticket to the Grand Final. Akkar Stadium From Sydney.

Spain vs Sweden (Tuesday, August 15)

Whatever happens, Spain It has already made history by qualifying for the semi-finals for the first time in its history. Directed by George Wilda They are coming off a perfect 4th finals game Netherlands (2-1 in extra time and 1-1 in regular time).

For its part, Sweden imposed upon Japan 1-2 in Final 4, four wins and one draw from five games played so far.

And there was that tie in the 8th round America (0-0), they finally won in dramatic fashion 5-4 on penalties.

Australia vs England (Wednesday, August 16)

The “Matildas” Surprised this Saturday by winning 7-6 (0-0 in regular time) on penalties vs FranceUndoubtedly one of the favorites to win the World Cup.

Like the Swedes, they have accumulated four wins and their only setback came in J2 of the group stage, unexpectedly losing 2-3. Nigeria.

On the other hand, none other than the current European champion: EnglandWon 9 points in the first round, but suffered too much in the 8th round and won 4-2 on penalties (0-0 in regular time). Nigeria.

Even in the 4th round he had to overcome a 0-1 deficit Colombia To finish with 2-1 odds against one of the tournament's biggest surprises.

See also  New Zealand, the new champions

Semi-finalists: Best Entries


Until this edition, his best role was in the 8th final France 2019There they fell 1-2 America.


The Vikings finished second USA 2003 (lost 2-1 in the final against Germany) and finished third China 1991, Germany 2011 And France 2019.


His most notable participation was 4th final In three cases: China 2007, Germany 2011 And Canada 2015.


Third place Canada 2015 and fourth place France 2019 They are his best performances so far.

Women's World Cup Winners

First FIFA Founded in 1991, only four nations have been champions Women's World Cup Until now. America (1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019), Norway (nineteen ninety five), Germany (2003 and 2007) and Japan (2011) can boast the prized trophy in their display cases.