June 23, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Francisco Cerundolo vs.  Novak Djokovic: schedule and how to watch the Roland Garros duel

Francisco Cerundolo vs. Novak Djokovic: schedule and how to watch the Roland Garros duel

Francisco Cerundolo (27th in the ATP Rankings) He faces what he could become One of the most important matches of his career. to Round of 16 to Roland Garrosthe Argentine will be measured This Monday Before number one in the world Novak Djokovic.

An encounter can lead to many aspects being taken into consideration, because If the Serbian does not reach the final, he will give up first place in the world rankings to Italian Jannik Sinner (second), This Sunday, he reached the top eight places in the competition.

Moreover, he is the eldest of the Cerundolo brothers Confrontation The possibility of becoming the first Argentine to defeat the Balkan legend since 2016, When tandelense Juan Martin del Potrothat’s what I remembered first round Follower rio 2016 Olympic Games, Start a series of 20 consecutive wins Before the representatives of the Albiceleste, the investigation of A So far the record is 58-7.

As far as Roland Garros is concerned, Fran is running with The small advantage of getting a few extra hours of rest, After the marathon match against which the holder of 98 titles played Italian Lorenzo Musetti (30). He also gave up one set less compared to Nole, who had to extend his final match until the fifth set.

On the other hand, the brand 12-9 From Serundolo in Brick dust During the Current season That puts him much faster than the 24-time Grand Slam champion, who barely has that Nine wins and three losses In the year 2024 on this surface.

See also  Argentinean Facundo Rodriguez will strengthen the defense of Liga de Quito

However, the stats and background fade away once the champions take the field of what it would be like Their first confrontation.

The match will start on Monday, June 3 in the third round of the Philippe Chatrier Tournament, no later than 11:00 AM (Argentina), 10:00 AM. (Chile), 09:00 AM (Peru and Colombia), 08:00 AM (Mexico).

All the action from Roland Garros can be followed exclusively on ESPN and STAR+.