July 2, 2022

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Google Chat will now warn you with a huge red flag about virtual fraudulent links |  Technique

Google Chat will now warn you with a huge red flag about virtual fraudulent links | Technique

Google Chat will now notify you of a suspicious conversation or fraudulent link that you receive, so you don’t fall into the trap.

Cybercriminals use popular apps like Instagram, Facebook or WhatsApp to spread as much malware as possible, and then steal user information.

Generally, this malware usually arrives through links that users, out of ignorance and curiosity, click on, and install various viruses on their devices.

However, Google has been warning us about this type of link for a few years now. phishing We could end up receiving it in many of its services, especially in Gmail where you’ve certainly seen it on more than one occasion.

Which is that when we receive a suspicious email in Gmail that contains some kind of link, the mail client informs us With a red banner above the sender of the message so we can verify its authenticity.

Oddly enough, this red logo is also appearing in other Google services such as Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets and Google Slides, and now it is also arriving in Google Chat, according to comments in Android.

Which is that in the next few days, if you are a Google Chat user and you receive some kind of invitation to a chat or someone sends you a specific link, You may end up with a huge red banner appearing at the bottom of the window warns you that”This conversation contains links to known phishing sites that will try to steal your information“.

So the user has two options, on the one hand, to block the sender so that he does not send us more links and so that we do not talk to this person, or “accept anyway” directly in case we consider it wrong.

See also  Wordle | How to play multiple times a day | trick | 2022 | Applications | Smart phones | Mobile phones | History | nda | nnni | data

Please note that this add-on comes in the latest Google Chat update which is rolling out in phases, so it may take up to two weeks to receive it.

This new security feature will be available to all Google Workspace customers, along with legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers, and those using personal Google accounts.

If you are bothered by these types of warnings, you can disable the function, but we advise you to leave it active as it comes by default.