May 27, 2022

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

AC Milan rose 6.95% amid volatility over Ukraine

New Zealand is using sanctions against Russian companies and politicians, including Putin

This content was released on March 18, 2022 – 09:20

Sydney (Australia), March 18 (EFE) – New Zealand on Friday imposed sanctions on 19 Russian companies and more than 360 people, including Russian President Vladimir Putin.

“The world is united against Putin’s actions in Ukraine, and a week after the enactment of a major law, we join the international community in applying our first target of sanctions,” New Zealand’s Foreign Minister Nanaya Mahuta said in a statement.

These first-round sanctions bar 364 people, including Russian politicians and soldiers, from entering the country, as well as Putin and 12 other members of the Security Council, as well as a bank and 18 other companies.

“These restrictions prevent the New Zealand people, property and financial institutions from dealing with designated persons, and their ships and aircraft from entering New Zealand,” the Chancellor said.

The maritime nation, which is launching new round-up of sanctions “in the coming weeks”, is blocking the use of the New Zealand system to avoid sanctions imposed by countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia or the European Union. .

Until the so-called so-called law banning Russia, which was tabled in Parliament last week in New Zealand, New Zealand law only allowed the implementation of sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council, where Russia has a veto right.

“These sanctions send a clear message to Russia about New Zealand’s opposition to its occupation of Ukraine.

On February 25, New Zealand announced that it was already imposing sanctions, and that bilateral ministerial consultations were suspended indefinitely.

See also  The New Zealand footballer who played with Santos provides clues as to what the playoffs will be like

Through this movement, the maritime nation joins the sanctions imposed by the United States, the European Union, Australia, Japan and many other countries – linked to the Russian military’s invasion of Ukraine against Russian politicians, soldiers and oligarchs. EFE

aus-nc / grc / mj

© EFE 2022. Redistribution and rebroadcasting of all or part of the contents of Efe’s Services is explicitly prohibited without the prior and express permission of Agencia EFE SA.