June 23, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

New Zealand, the host country of the opening ceremony, and a team from Argentina

New Zealand, the host country of the opening ceremony, and a team from Argentina

Auckland / Photo: Press.

New Zealand will host the opening match of the 2023 World Cup in Auckland on July 20G’s group will also be the country where it is located ArgentinaIt will compete with Italy, South Africa and Sweden.

Its largest city is Auckland, but the capital and seat of government is Wellington. Dunedin and Hamilton are the other two cities to host the World Cup.

New Zealand is made up of two main islands, North and South, and other smaller islands, covering an area of โ€‹โ€‹268,000 km2 with a population of over 5 million. Located in the South Pacific Ocean, 1,600 km east of Australia, it is a country with almost no pollution and a quarter of its land area has been declared a nature park.

The World Cup will use the traditional names of the host cities in Maori and the languages โ€‹โ€‹of Australia’s First Nations.

Auckland / Tamaki Magaurau will be the base of the Argentina national team and the city where they will make their debut against Italy on July 24 (at 3:00 in our country). Kingsland’s Eden Park stadium, with a seating capacity of 48,276, will host all Women’s World Cup matches in the city.

Dunedin Press photo
Dunedin / Photo: Press.

The first will be a local one between New Zealand and Norway on July 20.

Eden Park was built in 1900 and has hosted the Cricket and Rugby World Cups, the last in 2022.

Argentina play South Africa on July 27 in Dunedin/Odepoti (at 9:00 p.m. Argentina time) is the second match in the region. Forsyth Barr Stadium or Dunedin can hold 28,744 people and hosted some matches of the 2011 Rugby World Cup and the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup. It is the only fully enclosed stadium in New Zealand. The southernmost part of the country, it has the nickname “El Invernatero” because of its origin.

See also  Costa Rica beat New Zealand in the playoffs to play in the World Cup in Qatar

The venue for Argentina’s last match of the group stage is Hamilton/Krigirova. The town straddles New Zealand’s longest Waikato River and is often the site of events such as the international Fields Agricultural Fair and the popular ballooning of the Waikato Hot Air Balloon Festival. Hamilton has a large number of higher education students studying at Windeck and the University of Waikato.

On August 2, Argentina will face the mighty Sweden at the FMG Waikato Stadium.Built in 2002 and has a capacity of 25,111 spectators.

Hamilton Magazine photo
Hamilton / Photo: Press.

In New Zealand, groups A (New Zealand, Norway, Philippines and Switzerland), Group C (Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia and Japan), Group E (USA, Vietnam, Netherlands and Portugal) will compete; and Group G (Sweden, South Africa, Italy and Argentina).

In Australia, its host cities Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, meanwhile, will make up Group B (Australia, Ireland, Nigeria and Canada); Group D (England, Haiti, Denmark and China); Group F (France, Jamaica, Brazil and Panama) and Group H (Germany, Morocco, Colombia and Republic of Korea).

Sydney, the traditional home of the Aboriginal Kadikal people, will be the only city to use two stadiums: Allianz Stadium or Sydney Football Stadium, where group stage matches will be played, and Accor Stadium, known as Australia Stadium. 83,500 seats, showing Australia’s first match against the Republic of Ireland (20 July), the knockout stages and the World Cup final on 20 August.