May 21, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Rugby World Cup 2023: Nine changes for New Zealand against Namibia

Rugby World Cup 2023: Nine changes for New Zealand against Namibia

Coach Ian Foster has made nine changes to his starting line-up following the opening round defeat to France, with Napo Laulala, Sam Whitelock, Dalton Babali, Artie Savay, Beauton Barrett and Anton Lienert-Brown all retaining their places.

The squad that beat Namibia 71-9 at RWC 2019 had nine players, but only two of their eight try scorers on the day: Anton Lienert-Brown and Sam Whitelock.

Sam Whitelock will equal Richie McCaw as the most capped All Black player in history with his 148th Test. Only Alun Wyn Jones (171) has surpassed him as the player with most caps.

Since his debut against Ireland in 2010, Whitelock has played in 147 of New Zealand’s 173 Tests, including 120 in 143 wins over the past 13 years.

Creation of New Zealand
1 Oba Tungafasi
2 Samisoni Toukeiho
3 Nebo Laulala
4 Brady Retallick
5 Samuel Whitelock
6 Luke Jacobson
7 Dalton Babali
8 RT Xavier (C)
9 Game Rogard
10 Damian McKenzie
11 Leicester Fainga’anuku
12 David Haviley
13 Anton Linert-Brown
14 Caleb Clarke
15 Buton Barrett

Disabled people:
16 Dan Coles
17 Ethan de Groot
18 Fletcher Newell
19 Scott Barrett
20 Tupou Vaa’i
21 Aaron Smith
22 Richie Mounga
23 Rieko Ioane


See also  The court declared New Zealand border control illegal due to Kovit-19