June 21, 2024

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

South Africa won the final against New Zealand

South Africa won the final against New Zealand

Paris, October 28 (EFE).- South Africa won their fourth Rugby World Cup After winning a gut-wrenching final against a valiant New Zealand (11-12) they played a good role with a man less and could have won had they been more in front of the woodwork.

The Springboks repeated the title they achieved in 2019 this Saturday in Japan and were crowned the team with the most world crowns, surpassing the All Blacks with three world crowns.

After the pre-clash New Zealand “haka”, both teams played their game. South Africa with its tight line-up suffocating and New Zealand in search of places with the mobile game.

World Champion again

Soon things turned in the Springboks face, Already in the 3rd minute New Zealander Frizzell received a yellow card and the ensuing penalty shot was converted by Handré Pollard.

But Mbonambi’s early injury a minute later was a minor blow to South Africa’s strategy. They should switch forward after the break to guarantee high voltage throughout the match.

The South Africans attacked all and tried to get a try, but a heroic “Black” defense meant that Pollard “boke” another penalty shot which he did not miss (0-6 in the 13th minute).

Once numerical parity was restored, All Black attacked with fury, Using their high mobility. Mounga closed the gap with a penalty shot (17m) to keep New Zealand in the game. But the unerring Pollard regained the lead two minutes from time when he converted a long-range penalty shot.

Two-time champion

For now, the African project is working. Their rock halted “Black’s” attempts to find gaps in the front line and caused mistakes that were converted by their relentless opening bollard. South Africa redoubled the pressure to capitalize on their numerical superiority and achieved another penalty shot which Pollard again scored (m.34).

See also  4 Mexican referees to attend Australia-New Zealand Women's World Cup

Just before that blow, the yellow of the cane turned red After the relegation, the All Blacks were forced to make a heroic comeback with a man down. It was the first elimination in a Rugby World Cup final.

The Springboks started the second half with more ambitious attacks, Looking for a test that allows you to get closer to the end of the game. The speedy Kolbe took advantage of an opponent’s mistake to reach the line, but when Oval blocked him, he sank to the ground.

Soon after, New Zealand received a yellow ball from the South African captain.Chia colisi (m.46), which gave numerical equivalence to green.

The All Blacks went for the try, looking for gaps and showing off their movement and combinations. But a couple of pass-getting errors derailed promising attacks.

The New Zealanders’ push was fierce, but South Africa’s defense did not budge, and after ten minutes of stoppage time Bokke returned to Kolisi without reducing the lead.

New Zealand lost 11-12, but saw the possibility of a repeat. Often heavily supported by the French public, the home side’s elimination against South Africa in the quarter-finals is still hurting. Kolbe received a yellow card in the 73rd minute and restored parity until the end of the fight.

We entered the final stretch with maximum emotion. Only one point advantage for South Africa and equal number. And despite being at the bottom, “Kiwis” many times had their rivals on the ropes.

See also  New Zealand plans to stop using the nickname of all whites

The All Black Pride ran out in the last two minutes. The last scrum, with time running out, was agonizing. Having already beaten France in the quarter-finals and England in the semi-finals by a single point, the South Africans came out on the field to claim their fourth Webb Ellis Cup.


South Africa beat New Zealand 11-12 on Saturday Very selective Four Rugby World Cups have been won.

New Zealand have won three titles, two by Australia and one by England.

Here is the record since the tournament’s inception:

  • 1987 – New Zealand
  • 1991 – Australia
  • 1995 – South Africa
  • 1999 – Australia
  • 2003 – England
  • 2007 – South Africa
  • 2011 – New Zealand
  • 2015 – New Zealand
  • 2019 – South Africa
  • 2023 – South Africa

read more:

Guatemala arrived in Jamaica hoping to qualify for the W Gold Cup