October 26, 2021

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Borrell condemns the expulsion of seven UN officials from Ethiopia

Borrell condemns the expulsion of seven UN officials from Ethiopia

You have successfully registered
Please click on the link in the email sent to

Moscow (Sputnik) – The High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy of the European Union, Josep Borrell, has strongly condemned the expulsion of seven United Nations officials from Ethiopia.

“The European Union and its member states strongly condemn the decision by the Ethiopian government to expel seven United Nations officials, as well as the persistent daily impediments to providing aid to those in need in the Tigray “And other parts of northern Ethiopia,” Borrell said on his Twitter account on Tuesday morning.

In a statement issued last night, the head of European diplomacy warned that this decision could “further undermine the possibility of providing relief to millions of Ethiopians in desperate humanitarian situations.”

Borrell urged the government of Ethiopia to reverse its decision immediately and called on all parties to the conflict to protect humanitarian workers and provide them with free and safe access, in accordance with international law.

See also  Radio Havana Cuba | Norway is making progress in the dialogue process between the Venezuelan government and the opposition

On September 30, Ethiopia announced the expulsion of seven United Nations officials, including representatives of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA), and the High Commissioner for Human Rights (Aknoda), for allegedly interfering in Ethiopia’s internal affairs.

On the way to civil war? An African power becomes the scene of a massacre

According to Addis Ababa, these officials spread disinformation, politicized humanitarian aid and diverted equipment to armed factions affiliated with the Tigray People’s Liberation Front, a rebel movement operating in northern Ethiopia.