October 26, 2021

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

Otorgan el Premio Nobel de Física a 3 científicos "por sus innovadoras contribuciones a nuestra comprensión de los sistemas físicos complejos"

The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists “for their innovative contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems.”


October 5, 2021 09:53 GMT

Between 1901 and 2020, 114 awards were awarded in this field.

Swedish Academy of Sciences granted This Tuesday received the Nobel Prize in Physics for Japanese meteorologist and climatologist Seokuro Manabe; German oceanographer and climate modeler Klaus Haselmann; and Italian physicist Giorgio Baresi.For their innovative contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems“.

Manabe and Haselman shared half of the prize for “physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantitative estimation of variability and reliable prediction of global warming”, and the other half was awarded to Parisi “for discovering the interaction of turbulence and fluctuations in physical systems from the atomic scale to the planetary scale.”

In his study, the Japanese scientist show up How do higher levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere lead to higher temperatures on the surface of the ground. In the 1960s, he led the development of physical models of Earth’s climate and was the first person to explore the interaction between radiation balance and the vertical transport of air masses. His work laid the foundation for the development of current climate models.

About 10 years later, Haselman I suspect A model that relates time and climate, thus answering a question Why climate models can be relied upon despite changing weather and weather. He also developed methods for identifying specific signals, tracers that both natural phenomena and human activities influence the climate. Their methods have helped show that the increase in atmospheric temperature is due to human carbon dioxide emissions.

See also  WHO calls for health to be a priority at COP26

Circa 1980, Paris Discover Patterns hidden in chaotic complex materials. His discoveries are considered among the most important contributions to the theory of complex systems. It allows understanding and describing many different materials and phenomena And it seems to be completely random, not only in physics but also in very different fields such as mathematics, biology, neuroscience, and machine learning.

“The discoveries made this year prove it Our knowledge of climate is backed by a solid scientific foundation, based on a careful analysis of the observations. “All of this year’s award winners have contributed to our understanding of the properties and evolution of complex physical systems,” said Thors Hans Hansson, chair of the Nobel Committee for Physics.

Nobel Prize in Physics

On November 27, 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will, giving most of his fortune to a series of Nobel Prize winners. As described in Nobel’s will, one part is dedicated to “the person who has made the most important discovery or invention in the field of physics.”

Between 1901 and 2020, 114 Nobel Prize Laureates in Physics. To date, William Lawrence Bragg was the youngest recipient in the field, aged 25 when the award was awarded in 1915 with his father, William Henry Bragg, “for their services in analyzing the structure of crystals. Via X-Strainer.”

If you like it, share it with your friends!