May 16, 2022

News Collective

Complete New Zealand News World

2022 Pulitzer Prize for Cuban-American historian Ada Ferrer |  culture |  Dr..

2022 Pulitzer Prize for Cuban-American historian Ada Ferrer | culture | Dr..

Crews, journalists and photographers from The New York Times, Miami Herald, Tampa Bay Times, Quanta Magazine, Chicago Tribune, The Atlantic, Kansas City Star, Houston Chronicle, Insider, Los Angeles Times, Getty Images, Reuters, Futuro Media, PRX, The Washington Post, among others, was awarded in this edition of the prestigious Journalism Awards.

The Washington Post, for example, awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for its “robust and lively” coverage of the attack on the United States Capitol on January 6, 2021. The Miami Herald awarded the Pulitzer Prize for breaking news to Hora for his coverage of the collapse of an apartment building in the South Champlain Towers.

Pulitzer Prize winners announced for the 106th time in New York. Marjorie Miller, a former Associated Press journalist who took over as director of the awards in April, announced the winners via a live broadcast.

In it, Miller also made a special mention of Ukrainian journalists for their “courage, resilience and commitment” during the war with Russia.

In the historical book category, the award was shared. One for Ada Ferrer, with her book Cuba: An American History (or “Cuba: Una history americana”), a long history of Cuba and its complex relations with the United States, from before the arrival of Christopher Columbus to the present. And another for Nicole Eustace with “Covered in the Night: A Story of Native Murder and Justice in Early America.

Cuba: An American History, book by Ada Ferrer.

Cuban-American Ada Ferrer, Professor of History and Latin American and Caribbean Studies at New York University, where she is also a Professor at Eustace, was previously awarded for the same book by the Los Angeles Times in its category as Best History Book.

See also  United States of America. They found a 22-kilometre long oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico after Hurricane Ida passed

14 of the 21 Pulitzer Prize categories are dedicated to journalistic work, from investigative stories to photographs and animation. But the prize is also awarded for literature (biography, fiction, reality, poetry, history), music and theater.

Winners are determined by a jury based at Columbia University in New York.

Last year, the Pulitzer family, in particular, gave various US media coverage of the effects of the coronavirus pandemic and protests against racism and police brutality following the death of African-American George Floyd.

rml (dpa, PulitzerPrizes, last updated at 22:05 CET)